The TRshady Forum became read-only in December 2014. The 10 year history will live on, in this archive.
Continue the discussion with the new home for the Eminem and Hip Hop discussion: HipHopShelter.com.

Remote Desktop Connection

Hardware and Software discussion. Seek advice or share your opinion on all things technology.

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Jul 28th, '14, 22:40

Are you asking if you can remote from your Mac into the windows portion you've installed? If so I don't think so.

But you can easily remote into any pc using a variety of programs: Remote Desktop Connection comes with your Mac, Teamviewer is another good one. LogMeIn is great but I don't believe it is free anymore.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Jul 28th, '14, 22:48

You can but you have to be careful, are you trying to do it for work purposes?

Does your work offer a VPN for their network?

If not try and install teamviewer on both the Mac and PC it's pretty straightforward for the most part if not I can help you.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Jul 28th, '14, 23:41

Hahahah I am halfway to get one and another because I work in IT 5 days a week!

The xxx.xxx.xx.xxx is the IP address of the computer you want to connect to. You'd possibly need to be connected to the VPN though if you use this method. It's not a bad thing honestly to have on your personal comp, I have 2 on mine.

Remote Desktop is found in your utilities folder but on your Mac just hit Command + Space and then type in remote and it should pop right up.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Jul 30th, '14, 01:26

Okay my bad It comes with Microsoft office...I'm an idiot.

http://www.teamviewer.com

This software is very easy to use. Just install it on both computers, if you can't figure it out I can help you. Very sorry for the confusion btw.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby Atone » Aug 1st, '14, 16:38

So much confusion in this, i do know that if you have an IPOD touch there is an app for some sorta remote connection
Image
User avatar
Atone
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4855
Joined: Jun 1st, '10, 08:47
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Aug 1st, '14, 16:39

Atone wrote:So much confusion in this, i do know that if you have an IPOD touch there is an app for some sorta remote connection


Teamviewer is probably the most popular.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby Atone » Aug 1st, '14, 16:41

TonyTilt wrote:
Atone wrote:So much confusion in this, i do know that if you have an IPOD touch there is an app for some sorta remote connection


Teamviewer is probably the most popular.



never heard of that one, i used to play with all sorts of apps on my older ipod,

i have 2 Ipod touches right now, the 32 gig i bought for christmas last year, and another 16 gig touch that i lost somewhere in my room, wish i could find that shit
Image
User avatar
Atone
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4855
Joined: Jun 1st, '10, 08:47
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Aug 1st, '14, 16:51

Calandre wrote:I recently bought a Mac and I want to access THIS computer when I'm at home - actually, I want to access the office network.


Use your office VPN!!!

Have you tried teamviewer
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Aug 1st, '14, 16:58

You're a confusing woman you know that?!
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby SliK » Sep 26th, '14, 04:39

Why don't you dual boot?
SliK
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4980
Joined: Dec 17th, '09, 06:03

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby SliK » Sep 26th, '14, 07:56

Calandre wrote:
SliK wrote:Why don't you dual boot?

Meaning?
I want to get into my work network without using VPN - does that work?

Install two operating systems on your PC. USE Mac for personal stuff and Windows for work.

Or, you know, wiki it:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-booting
SliK
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4980
Joined: Dec 17th, '09, 06:03

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby SliK » Sep 26th, '14, 10:47

Calandre wrote:I don't want two OS.
I just want to access the work network. I'm not getting into the network just by installing Windows.
Two very different things.

You seem very sure of that for someone who doesn't know how to do what you want to do lol. If it's a Mac issue this is your best bet.
Last edited by SliK on Sep 26th, '14, 10:51, edited 1 time in total.
SliK
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4980
Joined: Dec 17th, '09, 06:03

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby SliK » Sep 26th, '14, 10:51

Calandre wrote:I recently bought a Mac and I want to access THIS computer when I'm at home - actually, I want to access the office network.

If you want to access a specific workstation you could VNC over the internet?

Right Tony? :unsure:
SliK
Under The Influence
Under The Influence
 
Posts: 4980
Joined: Dec 17th, '09, 06:03

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Sep 26th, '14, 14:23

SliK wrote:
Calandre wrote:I recently bought a Mac and I want to access THIS computer when I'm at home - actually, I want to access the office network.

If you want to access a specific workstation you could VNC over the internet?

Right Tony? :unsure:


She could use her works VPN but she doesn't wanna!

Or she could use logmein or teamviewer OR VNC.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Re: Remote Desktop Connection

Postby TonyTilt » Sep 26th, '14, 14:27

It should work but it also shoulda came with your mac I thought. You need to be on your network though before that works smarty mystery ass.
Image
Solace wrote:Finna catch Tony brushing his teeth in the middle of chugging Jack Daniels

Image
#Slumerican
User avatar
TonyTilt
Renegade
Renegade
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Jan 5th, '12, 21:12
Location: Slumerica(Ohio)
Gender: Male

Next

Return to Computing & Technology



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]