The TRshady Forum became read-only in December 2014. The 10 year history will live on, in this archive.
Continue the discussion with the new home for the Eminem and Hip Hop discussion: HipHopShelter.com.

Audio Engineering

Talk about what you have learned in school/college/university, and discuss with others.
Or you can simply talk negative about your teachers/boss.

Audio Engineering

Postby Nick419 » Apr 27th, '12, 04:35

I currently am a student at Specs Howard School of Media Arts in Southfield Michigan which is a suburb of Detroit (my school is actually on 9 mile lol) and I am majoring in Radio Broadcasting. However it is a one year course and I am only receiving a certificate of completion (so it is a trade school in a sense). Due to my young age (19) I would like to continue my education and receive a degree. I am currently highly interested in pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Audio Engineering Technology as it ties into my current major and follows the career path i wish to pursue (plus i can transfer my credits for degrees such as this). So i was curious to see if anyone on here has any opinions and/or experience in this field. I have been doing some research on the web and it's kind of vague on information. I've found sites that say that the average salary is 88 grand or more a year and the job outlook is high and is continually growing. Than I've seen sites that say the pay is around 30 g's and the market is terrible. I realize passion/ambition has a lot to do with any media related career but I'm not concerned with that as I wouldn't of gone to a media arts school in the first place if i didn't have it.
RIP Big proof~Broken hearted, my soul's like a open target
And I'm ready to leave Earth
You step to my death next year on my T-shirt
Nick419
Role Model
Role Model

Re: Audio Engineering

Postby Spyder » Apr 27th, '12, 05:13

no experience in this beyond cool edit lol
so i cant help your decision.