The TRshady Forum became read-only in December 2014. The 10 year history will live on, in this archive.
Continue the discussion with the new home for the Eminem and Hip Hop discussion: HipHopShelter.com.

Becoming a writer-------> Artist; Writing & Mic discussion.

Becoming a writer-------> Artist; Writing & Mic discussion.

Postby J.R. » Aug 21st, '11, 02:43

Writing tips and tricks and discussion here, along with working towards becoming an artist/ mic discussion here.
J.R.
Renegade
Renegade

Re: Becoming a writer-------> Artist; Writing & Mic discussi

Postby Solace » Aug 21st, '11, 02:50

Well I'm not much of an artist, if you check out my tracks you'll hear I'm a beginner as well. Just try to get collabs for practice before trying to complete a full 3 verse song or even get the idea of a mixtape/album. And when you do tracks, don't be boring. You can do adlibs, overlays, pan shit around, all that wonderful stuff. Just make sure you get the best out of your mixing.

Writing just gets better as you do it. You realize doing up to 6 syllable rhymes aren't difficult, where as when you started you probably thought a 3 syllable rhyme was impressive. It just comes with time. Expand your artists, listen to better ones. Don't always narrow yourself to one avenue of writing. Be aggressive, and show your talent. But you have a personal life too, show your emotions. Etc. Versatility is key in a full artist. And growth/evolving/maturing is key as well. Don't keep the same flow and mindset throughout the years (though I think living life does that for you anyway). Think about what you have problems with and what could possibly help you improve in that area too.

I'm just ranting some bullshit tbh I'm not a teacher lols

balls.
Solace
Bad Influence
Bad Influence

Postby EyeSpick » Aug 21st, '11, 02:56